ChildCare Aware of Piedmont VirginiaChildCare Aware of Piedmont Virginia is a childcare resource and referral service that provides parents with basic or enhanced (see below) referrals to childcare providers and offers training and support to caregivers. Click here for a list of upcoming classes.
More than 1,100 caregivers have listed their information with us including family daycare homes, daycare centers, after-school programs and preschools. Click here for more information and a map of Virginia counties served by ChildCare Aware of Piedmont Virginia.
Please note: This is a childcare resource and referral agency and not a part of the Department of Social Services licensing process. In fairness to the providers listed with our referral service, we cannot suggest or rate any child care providers. It is strongly suggested that you visit as many providers as possible to assure finding the one that will fit your families needs best.
If you are seeking child care outside of the Sentara RMH ChildCare Aware of Piedmont Virginia service area, please contact the Centralized Child Care Referral Specialist at 1-866-KIDS-TLC or www.vachildcare.org.
Sentara RMH Atrium
2000 Beery Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
(540) 433-4531 or toll-free 800-377-4453
Monday – Thursday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Basic Referral Service
Cost: No charge
How to begin: Complete a short form (PDF) with basic questions about your childcare needs.
You will receive:
- A list including the name, address and phone number for at least 3 providers meeting your specified needs.
- A guide to choosing quality childcare.
Online Child Care Training Available
At last! Quality online child care trainings for your convenience. You can participate in training when you want it, without leaving the comfort of your own home. You can take a class whenever you wish and complete it at your own pace. Our courses are designed to provide quality, accessible, educational opportunities for child care professionals pursuing a CDA credential, CDA renewal, or completing annual training hours. Sentara RMH ChildCare Aware of Piedmont Virginia and Virginia Child Care are committed to helping you meet your professional development needs through convenient online classes available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Clink on this link to access the course catalog and begin… VA Training Academy
Create a Virtual Tour Profile
ChildCare Aware of the Piedmont through ChildCare Aware of Virginia has a new ‘virtual tour profile’ application available that is Professional, Cost Effective, and Web Based to help Childcare Centers and In-home Childcare providers expand their marketing reach. This resource is available for parents to access anytime, and highlights information needed by parents to choose the best childcare opportunity for their family. To get a profile started a face-to-face training is offered for $25.00 per center or in-home day care or as a self-directed online class for $30.00. Call the Health Source reservation desk at 855.564.7200 to register for the face-to-face class. The online class can be accessed by going to www.va.childcareaware.org to register.
Frequently asked Questions Especially for Providers
Q: How many children can a family day care provider care for?
A: Virginia law allows individuals providing care for children in their home to care for up to 5 children, not including their own, at any one time without regulation. No more than five children, whether they are full-time, before/after school, or part-time, can be present in the home at one time if the provider is unregulated. Also, providers can keep no more than four children under the age of two at any one time, including their own children.
Q: Is there any way to care for more children?
A: A family day care provider may keep up to 12 children after becoming licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services Licensing Office in Verona (540-332-2330). This process requires criminal and child protective services checks and TB tests for all adults in the household, First Aid/CPR training, and two home visits per year to check the safety of the environment. The annual fee is $14. Note: Some localities, like the City of Harrisonburg, require home caregivers to obtain a business license. This is a separate process from Social Services state licensure.
Q: What about insurance?
A: Some homeowners' insurance policies limit the number of children permitted in home care, so providers should check with their insurance carriers and get limits in writing.
Q: What is Voluntary Registration?
A: Providers who don't wish to care for more than five children but do want to participate in the USDA Food Program (which reimburses childcare food expenses) may become Voluntarily Registered. The fee is $50 for two years and it requires the same tests as licensing but only one home visit per year and has fewer regulations than licensing. For more information on this program, contact Child Nutrition, Inc. in Warrenton (540-347-3767) or the Council of Community Services in Roanoke (800-354-3388).